Thank you to our event sponsors and attendees for making Champions of Choice 2018 our most successful event yet!

Champions of Choice 2018 Honorees

Whoopi Goldberg

In 2002, Whoopi Goldberg became one of a very elite group of artists who have won the Grammy (“Whoopi Goldberg,” 1985), the Academy Award (“Ghost,” 1991), the Golden Globe (“The Color Purple,” 1985 and “Ghost,” 1991), the Emmy (as host of AMC’s “Beyond Tara:  The Extraordinary Life of Hattie McDaniel,” 2002 and a Daytime Emmy for “The View,” 2009) and a Tony (Producer of “Thoroughly Modern Millie,” 2002). She produced and made her directorial debut with the documentary, “Whoopi Goldberg Presents Moms Mabley,” which premiered at the 2013 Tribeca Film Festival and premiered on HBO in November 2013. Whoopi has appeared in many films, on TV and graced the Broadway stage.  She made her debut as an author in 1992 and has since published five books and a children’s book series. She is equally well-known for her humanitarian efforts on behalf of children, the homeless, human rights, education, substance abuse and the battle against AIDS, as well as many other causes and charities. Among her many charitable activities, Whoopi is a Goodwill Ambassador to the United Nations.

Caroline Hirsch

Caroline Hirsch, founder and owner of the iconic NY comedy venue Carolines on Broadway, is an entrepreneur, producer, and entertainment industry visionary. She founded and produces the annual New York Comedy Festival and created Stand Up For Heroes, the festival’s annual comedy benefit for the Bob Woodruff Foundation, which has raised more than $45 million since its inception in 2007. A longtime advocate for women, Hirsch served on the board of the Ms. Foundation and was instrumental in launching the Take Our Daughters To Work program. Hirsch frequently combines her entertainment expertise with her dedication to giving back to the community. She’s helped curate myriad comedy benefit events for such philanthropic organizations as the ERA Coalition; the Ms. Foundation, which hosted its 22nd Comedy Night at Carolines in 2017; and the Ovarian Cancer Research Fund Alliance, whose 17th annual Stand Up for Madeline benefit will grace Carolines in May 2018. Most recently, Hirsch served as an executive producer on Ask for Jane, a feature film based on the true story of the Jane Collective, which provided safe abortions to women in need prior to the passage of Roe v. Wade.

Photos from Champions of Choice 2018

Champions of Choice
Benefit Committee

Kim Chirls, Co-Chair

Jane Pollock, Co-Chair

Nancy Silverman, Co-Chair

Christine Quinn

Laura Ross, MD

Audrey Spiegel

Sharon Weinberg

Event Sponsors

Margaret Munzer Loeb · Nancy Silverman

Audrey Gruss

Elyse and Lawrence Benenson · Jill Braufman and Daniel Nir · Cynthia Green Colin and Patricia Green · Caroline Hirsch · Jane Pollock and Philip Berney · Laura Ross, MD and David Ross ·
Audrey and Jeff Spiegel · Allison Stern

Kim and Richard Chirls · Kristen Dickey and James Dooley · Christine Quinn · May and Samuel Rudin Family Foundation, Inc. · Sharon Weinberg

Julie F. Kay and Thomas Fergus · Lisa J. Kohl, PhD · Stephanie Krieger · Laura Scheuer

Amalgamated Bank · Donna Bascom and Paul Biddelman · Daniel and April Brooks · Laurie Campbell and Lara Marcon · Debra Cooper · Roxanne Donovan · Bob Fertik and Antonia Stolper · Wendy Flanagan and Amy Lipin · David Geffen · Mindy and Jon Gray · Lissa Hirsch, MD · Kim Koopersmith · Sarah Kovner · Linda Lambert · Raquel and Lear Levin · Aila Main and Marnie Worth · Kathleen S. McHugh · Morgan Stanley ·  Lisa Rosenblum · Fiona and Eric Rudin · Abigail and David Schumer · Heidi L. Sieck · Mila Tuttle · Susi Wunsch · Barbara Vogelstein

Boards of Directors

National Institute for Reproductive Health

Julie F. Kay, Chair
Raquel Levin, Treasurer
Laura Ross, MD,  Secretary
Kim Chirls, ex officio
Jill Braufman
Lissa Hirsch, MD
Robert Jaffe
Kathleen McHugh
Jane Pollock
Laura Scheuer
Nancy Silverman
Heidi L. Sieck
Audrey Spiegel

National Institute for Reproductive Health Action Fund

Kim Chirls, Chair
Shirley Gordon, Treasurer
Bob Fertik, Secretary
Julie F. Kay, ex officio
 Donna Bascom
Daniel J. Brooks
Debra Cooper
Sarah Kovner
Raquel Levin
Christine Quinn
Sharon Weinberg

A Look Back at Champions 2017

Explore Past Champions of Choice